top of page

OIDJ Day: 1

After sleepily packing the night before, when we finally found the right building without getting completely lost again, I started my first day with the OIDJ program at Gaylord. A late lunch and saying goodbye for a week to my mom finished my morning, we all hung out in a computer room and got to know each other with Dorion's questions. I learned that a movie about me would be a musical, and Emma Stone would play me. There's a boy who specifically loves honey-crisp apples, and is willing to go miles for quality ones. One of my student leaders wanted to hike through the Sahara and have the experience of carrying gallons of water on your back, and another's movie would have no plot, just hours of Zac Efron doing various things shirtless. My first class about blogging brought to my attention that keeping a blog helps your career platform, if you're going to be considered by an employer they can sift through your work and make a judgement call. It also helps you practice and stay in the swing of writing, because the more you write or do anything the better you get. We each created out individual blogs and have to upkeep them for the week being, with hopes that we decide to continue. Then was dinner and all the quirky conversation that followed. Oreo flavors, Disney movies (a mutual bias against Frozen and in favor of Moana) and whether or not destroying a girls property is the right way to win her heart. I won a game of never have I ever outside the dorms, taking down other people with their twitter following of One Direction members, and other important things like Zac Efron pre or post his High School Musical years. Next was a social media class, talking about the growth of rapid media followings, and more works on the blog that I'm still having difficulty lacing my aesthetic into.


bottom of page